11 May 2016

Cannes

Known around the world for its International Film Festival, Cannes is a firm favourite among business conventioner visitors, mainly due to its impressive, glamorous Palais des Festivals et des Congrès hall. Communications, graphics and specialised technology professionals gravitate here, and have gradually transformed the city into the capital of cinema and graphics – an ambition further developed by the Cannes Technopole de l’image graphics hubs. Cannes is also the European leader in satellite systems, thanks to the Thales Alenia Space.

› Display the map in full screen mode.

 

Overview

Located a mere twenty-five kilometres away from France’s second largest international airport (Nice Côte d’Azur), nestled on the balmy shores of the Mediterranean, Cannes enjoys an exceptional geographic location right in the heart of Europe, as well as a remarkable infrastructure system. The city boasts a business airport that is France’s second largest in terms of traffic, and is highly-frequented by delegate and convention participants. Cannes is easily and directly accessible via the A8 motorway, and is serviced by the TGV Méditerranée network.

Overlooking one of the world’s most stunning bays and drenched in radiant sunlight, Cannes has managed to keep a tight hold on the charm of its Provencal traditions while nurturing a high-quality cultural policy and economic dynamism that is resolutely open to both the future and the world.

Cannes is part of the Communauté d’agglomération [Urban Community] of Lérins, an area comprised of the following 5 communes: Cannes, Le Cannet, Mandelieu-La Napoule, Mougins and Théoule-sur-Mer.[>] paysdelerins.fr

Areas of excellence

Home to one of Europe’s best-performing Palais des Festivals et des Congrès and subsequently France’s 2nd largest convention city, every year Cannes hosts approximately forty large Business to Business conventions and international exhibitions. Cannes has proved itself to be a crucial meeting place for some of the world’s largest markets and international decision-makers working in television, luxury industries, property, music and advertising (MIDEM, MIPIM, MIP TV, MIPCOM, MAPIC, Tax Free World Exhibition, Gartner, International Luxury Travel Market, IDEF (the video game exhibition), International Festival of Advertising Film, International Leisure Festival, etc.) on top of the world-renowned Festival de Cannes, the single most televised event after the Olympic Games.

A timeless favourite, highly-appreciated by foreign visitors (making up 55% of the client base), Cannes is one of the world’s leading leisure tourism destinations, welcoming in almost two million visitors every year. The city is a site of great importance in terms of the history of leisure and pleasure destinations across the world.

Cannes, international city of business – and pleasure

  • France 2nd largest number of conventions
    244,150 convention participants spread over 39 events throughout the year
    France’s most significant city for Business to Business
  • 2nd largest business airport in France (Cannes-Mandelieu airport)
    4 helicopter companies and 4 business airlines based here
  • 2 million visitors every year, 55% of whom are foreign nationals
  • Six 5-star hotels (1442 rooms)
    20 cocktail bars and nightclubs
    480 restaurants and cafés
    33 private beaches each with their own restaurant, 13 public beaches and 2 council-run beaches
    3 gambling establishments, including the Casino Croisette, the famous Palm Beach and the incredibly luxurious Casino Les Princes

Source: City of Cannes – Cannes in Figures, August 2013

Established just to the West of Cannes is the Thalès Alenia Space head office, a world reference in telecommunications, radar observation and optical Earth observation, defence and security, navigation and the sciences. Within its walls lies Europe’s largest testing centre, where satellites are trialled, launch conditions and in-orbit operations simulated. Over the last decade, Thalès Alenia Space has strived to push its activity even further, in particular through its deep involvement in competitiveness clusters in the PACA region. A dense network of high-tech sub-contracting companies have subsequently popped up, operating in the fields of aeronautics and space.

Developmental projects

The Cannes’ Technopole” intends to capitalise on the privileged status Cannes enjoys among graphics and world cinema professionals, its close proximity to Europe’s first science and technology park, as well as an economy geared towards high tech and specialised industry.

Cannes’ Technopole

This ambitious programme aims to regulate and stimulate activities that are specifically related to graphics and their multiple applications, such as media, advertising, image banks, design, medical and scientific imaging and video games.

The programme is set to be installed at the Bastide Rouge site, with building work to be carried out in order to create:

  • a business incubator called “CréaCannes” dedicated to the creative sectors, aerospace and graphic design, to include a coworking space.
  • a business centre,
  • the Laboratoire de l’image numérique (LIN) [Laboratory for Digital Images],
  • a university campus entirely focused on new digital technologies, media, tourism and luxury hospitality,
  • a leisure centre to include a multiplex cinema of over 10 screens, a bowling alley and restaurants,
  • a commercial centre themed around the concepts of image and the digital world.

Useful links:

11 mars 2016

Cannes

Mondialement connue pour son Festival International du Film, Cannes est une destination favorite des congressistes d’affaires notamment grâce à son Palais des Festivals et des Congrès. Les professionnels de la communication, de l’image et des technologies de pointe lui ont conféré un statut de capitale de l’image, à laquelle la Technopole de l’image de Cannes veut ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives. Cannes accueille aussi le leader européen des systèmes satellitaires : Thales Alenia Space.

› Afficher la carte en plein écran.

Présentation

A vingt-cinq kilomètres de Nice Côte d’Azur, deuxième aéroport international de France, sur les rives accueillantes de la Méditerranée, Cannes bénéficie d’une situation géographique exceptionnelle au centre de l’Europe, et d’un réseau d’infrastructures remarquable. Dotée d’un aéroport d’affaires, occupant le deuxième rang national en termes de trafic et particulièrement bien connu des congressistes, la ville est directement accessible par l’autoroute A8 et desservie par le TGV Méditerranée.

Face à l’une des plus belles baies du monde, inondée de soleil, Cannes a su préserver le charme de ses traditions provençales tout en développant une politique culturelle de haut niveau et une dynamique économique résolument tournée vers l’avenir et l’international.

Cannes appartient à  la Communauté d’agglomération des pays de Lérins composée des 5 communes suivantes : Cannes, Le Cannet, Mandelieu-La Napoule, Mougins et Théoule-sur-Mer. [>]  paysdelerins.fr

Domaines d’excellence

2e ville de congrès en France grâce à un Palais des festivals et des congrès parmi les plus performants d’Europe, Cannes accueille chaque année une quarantaine de grands congrès et salons internationaux Business to Business. Cannes s’est affirmée comme le carrefour incontournable des plus grands marchés mondiaux et des décideurs internationaux auprès des  professionnels de la télévision, des industries du luxe, de l’immobilier, de la musique, de la publicité (MIDEM, MIPIM, MIP TV, MIPCOM, MAPIC, Tax Free World Exhibition, Gartner, International Luxury Travel Market, IDEF (le salon du jeu vidéo), Festival international du film publicitaire, le Festival international de la plaisance…) et le célèbre Festival de Cannes, la manifestation la plus médiatisée au monde après les Jeux olympiques.

Très prisée des visiteurs étrangers (55 % de la clientèle), Cannes figure parmi les plus grandes destinations mondiales du tourisme de loisirs en accueillant près de deux millions de visiteurs par an. Elle est aussi un lieu historique de la grande plaisance mondiale.

Cannes, ville internationale alliant affaires et loisirs

  • 2e destination de congrès en France
    244 150 congressistes sur 39 manifestations dans l’année
    1ere ville pour le Business to Business
  • 2e aéroport d’affaires de France  (aéroport Cannes-Mandelieu)
    4 compagnies d’hélicoptères et 4 compagnies d’aviation d’affaires basées
  • 2 millions de visiteurs par an dont 55 % de clientèle étrangère
  • 6 hôtels cinq étoiles (1 442 chambres)
    20 pianos-bars et discothèques 
    480 restaurants et cafés
    33 plages privées avec leur restaurant,13 plages publiques et 2 plages en régie municipale
    3 établissements de jeux, dont le Casino Croisette, le célébrissime Palm Beach et le luxueux Casino Les Princes

Source: Ville de Cannes – Cannes en chiffres, août 2013

Implantée à l’ouest de Cannes, le siège social de Thalès Alenia Space, référence mondiale dans les domaines des télécommunications, observation radar et optique de la Terre, défense et sécurité, navigation et sciences, héberge le plus grand centre d’essai d’Europe permettant de tester les satellites, de simuler les conditions de lancement et de mise en orbite. Depuis plusieurs dizaines d’années, Thalès Alenia Space ne cesse de développer ses activités, notamment en s’impliquant massivement dans les nouveaux pôles de compétitivité labellisés en région PACA. Un réseau dense d’entreprises sous traitantes high tec s’est développé dans la filière aéronautique et spatiale.

Projets structurants

La Technopole de l’Image de Cannes entend capitaliser sur le statut privilégié de Cannes auprès des professionnels de l’image et du cinéma mondial, l’immédiate proximité de la première technopole d’Europe et une économie tournées vers la haute technologie et l’industrie de pointe.

Technopole de l’Image de Cannes

Ce programme d’envergure fédère et catalyse les activités spécifiquement liées à l’image et à ses multiples applications, telles les médias, la publicité, les banques d’images, le design, l’imagerie médicale et scientifique ou encore les jeux vidéo.

La Bastide Rouge rassemble sur un même site :

  • une pépinière d’entreprises dédiée à l’économie créative, au spatial et à l’Imagerie numérique, intitulée « CréaCannes » et comprenant un espace de coworking. Elle est relayée par la couveuse Creative 06.
  • un hôtel d’entreprises,
  • le Laboratoire de l’image numérique (LIN),
  • le campus universitaire dédié aux nouvelles technologies numériques, aux médias, au tourisme et à l’hôtellerie de luxe,
  • un pôle loisirs comprenant un cinéma multiplexe de plus de 10 salles, un bowling et des restaurants,
  • un pôle commercial thématique spécialisé dans l’image et le numérique.

 Liens utiles :