17 July 2019

Inauguration of the unicorn start-up Symphony in Sophia Antipolis

On July 4th, the unicorn start-up Symphony inaugurated its R&D center at the ecological campus of Pearl Partner in Sophia Antipolis. This R&D center is key in the European and global expansion strategy of the company. The French Secretary of State for the Digital Economy, Cedric O, also attended this special event.

Founded by David Gurlé in 2014, Symphony is a start-up from the Silicon Valley specializing in secure team collaboration and cloud-based messaging. Looking at transferring its R&D center in Europe for competitiveness and commercial targeting reasons, the Californian start-up was supported by Team Côte d’Azur starting from the end of 2017 to find an optimal location site and grow its business.

Sophia Antipolis was chosen after a study based on more than 15 destinations in the world, among which Brazil and Singapore. Currently valued at $1.4 billion and seeking to recruit 100 employees in Sophia Antipolis by the end of 2020 against 34 today, Symphony found the ideal conditions within the first European technopole. Sophia Antipolis established itself as one of the best places to develop the innovative solutions of Symphony. Amongst the main benefits of the location, renowned R&D expertise, many engineering talents, a dynamic and unified innovation environment, leading laboratories, over 2000 start-ups and key companies, as well as the global “SCS” competitiveness cluster (secure communicating solutions). The presence of many companies specializing in the digital industry contribute to placing Sophia Antipolis as the French “Silicon Valley”, a favorable environment to meet technological challenges.

The strong local digital culture played a part in seducing the Californian start-up. With over 60 nationalities, Sophia Antipolis offers an unparalleled diversity of profiles and paths, synonym of opportunities. To protect this digital culture for current and future generations and to help build a secure environment for companies specializing in the digital industry, David Gurlé introduced the new Manifest for Digital Human Rights, which is now a national priority.

To support this idea and illustrate the strong partnership between Symphony and the French Government since 2015, the French Secretary of State for the Digital Economy underlined the country’s potential in terms of digital and aims at placing it as a top destination for foreign investors. The French ecosystem is emerging as a platform that fosters the rise of tomorrow’s technological giants and is now ranked 1st on the European level in the R&D investment category. This leading position is reiterated by the recent E&Y ranking and translates a very strong boost in the activities. The ambition of the Côte d’Azur is to become a digital European leader. “Success is a combination of people and territories, and this is what Sophia Antipolis manages to do”, pointed out the French Secretary of State for the Digital Economy.

The set up of Symphony, which was supported by Team Côte d’Azur, sent a strong message to the rest of the world, especially Fintech players. It also reflects the attractiveness of the region and the mission of Team Côte d’Azur to structure and promote an efficient ecosystem among national and foreign investors. 

Back

17 juillet 2019

Inauguration de la licorne Symphony à Sophia Antipolis

Le 4 juillet dernier, c’est au sein du campus écologique Pearl Partner à Sophia Antipolis que la licorne Symphony a inauguré son centre R&D, pièce maîtresse de l’entreprise, dans le cadre de sa stratégie d’expansion en Europe et dans le monde, en présence de Cédric O, Secrétaire d’Etat au Numérique. 

Fondée en 2014 par David Gurlé, Symphony est une start-up issue de la Silicon Valley et spécialisée dans la messagerie professionnelle cryptée. Souhaitant délocaliser son centre R&D en Europe pour des raisons de compétitivité et de ciblage commercial, la licorne californienne a été accompagnée par l’agence Team Côte d’Azur à partir de fin 2017 pour trouver un site d’implantation optimal pour développer son activité.

Le site de Sophia Antipolis a en effet été retenu suite à une étude portant sur une quinzaine de destinations dans le monde, dont le Brésil et Singapour. Désormais capitalisée à 1,4 milliards de dollars et visant à recruter 100 employés sur le site de Sophia Antipolis d’ici fin 2020 contre 34 aujourd’hui, Symphony retrouve des conditions idéales au sein de la première technopole européenne. Sophia Antipolis s’est imposée comme l’une des meilleures destinations pour développer les solutions innovantes de Symphony. Parmi les atouts retenus de ce site d’implantation, une expertise R&D reconnue, de nombreux talents en ingénierie, un écosystème de l’innovation dynamique et resserré, plusieurs laboratoires de premier plan, plus de 2000 start-ups et leaders mondiaux, ainsi que l’existence du réputé pôle de compétitivité mondial SCS dédié aux solutions communicantes sécurisées. La présence de nombreuses entreprises du numérique fait effectivement de Sophia Antipolis une « Silicon Valley » à la française, un cadre propice pour y relever les défis technologiques.

C’est également la culture du logiciel locale très forte qui a séduit la start-up californienne. Avec une soixantaine de nationalités représentées, Sophia Antipolis offre une diversité de profils et de parcours inégalée, synonyme de nombreuses opportunités. Dans une démarche visant à protéger cette culture digitale pour les générations actuelles et futures, et faire en sorte que les entreprises du numérique puissent évoluer dans un espace de confiance, David Gurlé a également évoqué le nouveau Manifeste du Droit de l’Homme Numérique qui est devenu une priorité nationale.

Pour appuyer ce discours et pour illustrer la force du partenariat noué entre Symphony et le gouvernement français depuis 2015, le Secrétaire d’Etat au Numérique a insisté sur le potentiel du pays dans le digital, souhaitant en faire une destination privilégiée pour les investisseurs étrangers. L’écosystème français, qui tend à s’imposer comme une plateforme pour favoriser le développement des géants et des technologies de demain, est effectivement passée au 1er rang européen pour la catégorie d’investissements R&D. Une position leader confortée par le classement E&Y et traduisant un dynamisme et une accélération très forts. L’ambition du territoire azuréen est de se positionner en tant que leader européen. « La réussite, ce sont des hommes et des territoires, et c’est ce que réussit à faire Sophia Antipolis », soulignait précisément le Secrétaire d’Etat au Numérique.

L’implantation de Symphony accompagnée par Team Côte d’Azur a donc délivré un message fort au reste du monde et notamment aux acteurs de la FinTech, tout en démontrant le potentiel de la destination azuréenne. Cette implantation s’inscrit également dans la dynamique de l’agence de promotion économique de structurer et valoriser un écosystème performant auprès d’investisseurs nationaux et étrangers.

Retour